Lest We Forget: Oprah’s Legends Ball

20131206-121432.jpg
I just rediscovered this slice of Black Lady Paradise last night about 3am and I think I cried as much as Oprah!

20131206-121354.jpg
All my favorite black divas old and young in one place! A 3 day affair where Oprah and the “young’ins”  Alicia Keys, Ashanti, Angela Bassett, Halle Berry, Mary J. Blige, Brandy, Naomi Campbell, Mariah Carey, Natalie Cole, Kimberly Elise, Missy Elliott, Tyra Banks, Iman, Janet Jackson, Phylicia Rashad, Debbie Allen and Alfre Woodard, among others paid tribute to Legends including Maya Angelou, Shirley Caesar, Diahann Carroll, Elizabeth Catlett, Ruby Dee, Katherine Dunham, Roberta Flack, Aretha Franklin, Nikki Giovanni, Dorothy Height, Lena Horne, Coretta Scott King, Gladys Knight, Patti LaBelle, Toni Morrison, Rosa Parks, Leontyne Price, Della Reese, Diana Ross, Melba Moore, Naomi Sims, Tina Turner, Cicely Tyson, Alice Walker, Dionne Warwick, and Nancy Wilson ( KNOW YOUR LEGENDS!!!) in the O-P-U-L-E-N-C-E of Oprah’s Montecito Estate with events including a luncheon where diamonds were served for dessert, my dream black diva photo shoot, the glamorous Legends Ball (where White people were allowed) and a Sunday Morning impromptu gospel explosion where ALL the divas took turns shouting to Jesus! I watched this twice last night and I’ll probably watch it again later today if for nothing else than to hear Cicely Tyson say “I felt like a nymph in fairyland!” And the hats! Guuuuuuurl! The hats!!! And the wigs! Guuuurl the wigs!!! Truly a delight! Get into huh! Get in to all of huh below!!!

I loved this special so much when it came out that I subtitled The East Village Mixtape 2- The Legends Ball cause that was the dreamiest cast I could imagine for an album with songs by  the fave divas in my own life: Kevin Aviance, Erickatoure, Princess Xtrvaganza, Xander and our very own Linda James!

Buy the songs HERE
,

Say something gay...

