You Go, Girl! Ellen Page Comes Out!


Ellen Page, who made her name in the 2007 indie hit Juno and has gone on to make dat superhero money hunny in X-Men: The Last Stand announced that she is gay in a lovely speech at a Human Rights Campaign-organized Time to Thrive conference of counsellors who work with teenagers who identify as gay, lesbian, transgender, bisexual or queer.

She said: “I’m here today because I’m gay, and because maybe I can make a difference.”

She added: ““I feel a personal obligation and a social responsibility. I also do it selfishly, because I am tired of hiding and I am tired of lying by omission.”

Page was given a standing ovation for coming out which should always be the response when anyone, famous or not, comes out. I’d also like to give a standing ovation to all of the amazing people who have never been in

Congrats on living your truth Ellen and not being a liar.

Jump to 5:25 on the full speech above for Ellen’s coming out.

Say something gay...

